Sail from island to island in the Azores archipelago

A 7-day getaway in the mythical Azores archipelago
Explore the Azores by sail
Departure Praia da Vitoria (Portugal)
Half board
7 days, 6 nights
You will love:
  • • Sailing the Mid-Atlantic
  • • Explore islands with unspoiled nature
  • • Swimming in natural pools
from
1 080 €
per person

Still relatively unknown to tourists, the Azores are the perfect destination to get away from it all on a sailing cruise. The archipelago is made up of nine volcanic islands located 1500 km from the Portuguese coast. These islands are divided into three zones: the eastern group (São Miguel and Santa Maria); the western group (Flores and Corvo) and the central group (Terceira, Faial, Pico, São Jorge and Graciosa). You will sail between the islands of the latter group for one week (about 4 hours per day). Snorkeling, swimming, hiking and culinary discoveries will be part of the experience.

Your Boat

Boat

Sail in the Azores archipelago aboard a Bavaria C45. At the helm of this 14-metre sailing yacht are Sarah and Kevin, two sailing lovers who know the destination inside out. The refined design and the comfort of this monohull will allow you to spend a very pleasant cruise. You will appreciate the large galley and the large table to share convivial moments. Outside, you will find a relaxation area with cushions and a dining table. A swimming platform will also be at your disposal, making it easier for you to get back on board.

Specifications
Boat Model:Bavaria C45
Type:Sailboat
Number of Cabins:3
Maximum Capacity:6
Crew Members:2
Comfort onboard:

Outdoor dining table
Sun loungers with cushions
Bimini
Bluetooth speakerphone
12v USB sockets
Swimming platform with ladder
Snorkeling equipment
Paddle boards
Motorized dinghy
Layout
The owner reserves the right to replace with a different boat model of the same quality and performance

Your Cabin

The boat has 2 rear cabins equipped with a king-size bed and a shared shower room and 1 front cabin with a queen-size bed with private shower room and toilet. All cabins have opening portholes, storage, reading lamp, fan and USB (12v) plug.
The crew has its own cabin with en-suite shower room.

Itinerary

Map

Sarah and Kevin offer you an itinerary off the beaten track! It is a perfect combination of sailing and exploring the Azores. This archipelago will seduce all nature lovers and hiking enthusiasts.

DAY 1 : Praia da Vitoria (Terceira) - Angra do Heroismo (Terceira) (about 15 nautical miles)
Sarah and Kevin will meet you at 10:30 at a café in Praia da Victoria. You will get to know the other passengers and attend a quick briefing before going on the boat. After checking out your cabin, you will be able to explore every corner of the boat. You will have lunch and cast off to set sail for Cabras. This island is perfect for playing the game of adventurers in the caves that served as pirate hideouts, or paddling along the steep cliffs. The crew will take you to spend the evening in Angra do Heroismo, a historic city listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Dinner is free.

DAY 2: Angra do Heroismo - Velas (São Jorge) (about 58 nautical miles)
Breakfast, then departure to the dizzying island of São Jorge. Its elongated shape and its numerous fajäs (flat geological formations advancing into the ocean) make it easily distinguishable from the others. Indeed, it is 54 km long and barely 6.9 km wide and has no less than 70 fajäs. Take advantage of this crossing to familiarize yourself with nautical terms, take part in the maneuvers, or take a nap on the deck. You may also have the chance to see dolphins, whales, or other marine mammals. Drop anchor in Velas at the end of the day. Dinner is free.

DAY 3: Velas (São Jorge)
You have free time to visit Velas, a village nestled at the foot of a mountain. You will discover an elegant and soothing public garden, but also Igreja Matriz, the island's mother church built in the 15th century. The crew will advise you what to do according to your desires. We can also arrange car rental in advance if you wish. Dinner is free.

DAY 4: Velas - Horta (Faial) (about 25 nautical miles)
You set sail again in the morning for Faial. You will drop anchor in the south-east of the island in the very colourful Horta marina, the meeting point for yachtsmen crossing the Atlantic. It is also known for its open-air "art gallery" which collects paintings left by the crews for good luck. If you wish, an excursion (optional) to the Capelo peninsula can be proposed to discover the Capelinhos volcano, formed by lava flows. Dinner is free.

DAY 5 : Horta - Lajes do Pico (Pico) (about 25 nautical miles)
Your journey continues to Pico Island. To reach it, you will pass through the Faial canal (which connects Horta to Madalena). You will then walk along the south coast of the island and admire Mount Pico. It is 2351 meters high, making it the highest mountain in the Azores and Portugal. On the road, you may notice the silhouette of sperm whales. You will end the day in Lajes do Pico, a former whaling centre where you will find a museum retracing the history of the whalers. Dinner is free.

DAY 6 : Lajes - Terceira (about 60 nautical miles)
You hoist the sails and start your return trip. Feel free to ask Sarah and Kevin questions to learn more about sailing. They will be delighted to share their passion with you. You will make a stopover on the island of Pico (car rental possible). If the weather permits, you will make a stop at Riberinhas to observe dolphins (not guaranteed). Take advantage of this last evening to watch the sunset from the deck of the boat. Dinner is free. Sail through the night to reach Terceira.

DAY 7: Praia da Vitoria (Terceira)
Your disembarkation is scheduled in the marina of Praia da Vitoria after breakfast.

Your stops:

Terceira > Angra do Heroismo > Velas > Horta > Lajes do Pico > Terceira

The itinerary may be changed without prior notice due to technical or weather conditions

Prices

Departure / ReturnDouble cabinPrice per person including VATDouble cabin for single usePrice per person including VAT
April 2021
Monday 05 Apr
Sunday 11 Apr
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 12 Apr
Sunday 18 Apr
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 19 Apr
Sunday 25 Apr
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 26 Apr
Sunday 02 May
1 080 €1 200 €
May 2021
Monday 03 May
Sunday 09 May
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 10 May
Sunday 16 May
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 17 May
Sunday 23 May
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 24 May
Sunday 30 May
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 31 May
Sunday 06 Jun
1 080 €1 200 €
June 2021
Monday 07 Jun
Sunday 13 Jun
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 14 Jun
Sunday 20 Jun
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 21 Jun
Sunday 27 Jun
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 28 Jun
Sunday 04 Jul
1 080 €1 200 €
July 2021
Monday 05 Jul
Sunday 11 Jul
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 12 Jul
Sunday 18 Jul
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 19 Jul
Sunday 25 Jul
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 26 Jul
Sunday 01 Aug
1 080 €1 200 €
August 2021
Monday 02 Aug
Sunday 08 Aug
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 09 Aug
Sunday 15 Aug
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 16 Aug
Sunday 22 Aug
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 23 Aug
Sunday 29 Aug
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 30 Aug
Sunday 05 Sep
1 080 €1 200 €
September 2021
Monday 06 Sep
Sunday 12 Sep
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 13 Sep
Sunday 19 Sep
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 20 Sep
Sunday 26 Sep
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 27 Sep
Sunday 03 Oct
1 080 €1 200 €
October 2021
Monday 04 Oct
Sunday 10 Oct
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 11 Oct
Sunday 17 Oct
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 18 Oct
Sunday 24 Oct
1 080 €1 200 €
Monday 25 Oct
Sunday 31 Oct
1 080 €1 200 €
There are no suitable dates available? Get in touch!
Price includes• Accommodation in double cabin
• Crew services (skipper and hostess)
• Half board (breakfast and lunch)
• Bedding, 2 towels and 1 beach towel (microfibre)
• Snorkeling equipment (fins, mask, and snorkel)
• Paddle
• Powered dinghy with fuel
• Guaranteed departure
Price does not include• Flights
• Round trip transfers between the airport and the marina
• Compulsory boarding fees (fuel, anchorage fees, port taxes, and cleaning at the end of the stay): 460€ divided between the number of passengers
• Meals: all dinners
• Beverages: soft drinks and alcohol
• Activities and excursions available ashore

FAQ

All French nationals can enter freely with a valid national identity card or passport (for any stay of less than 30 days).

Please note: national identity cards issued to adults between 1 January 2004 and 31 December 2013 will still be valid 5 years after the expiry date (indicated on the back). Nevertheless, we strongly recommend that you use a passport rather than an identity card whose expiry date has passed.

This information is subject to change by the authorities of the country visited. It is not uncommon for border crossing rules to change. We therefore strongly advise you to refer to the "travel advice" section of the France Diplomatie website: https://www.diplomatie.gouv.fr/fr/conseils-aux-voyageurs/.
Nationals of other countries should enquire about formalities at the consulate of their home country.
Your plane tickets can be booked by the GlobeSailor team. You just have to specify it to your advisor when you book your cruise.
Your transfers are not included in your package. However, they can be organized by your Globe Sailor advisor and the base manager by taxi or minibus. The payment of this service is generally to be made with Globe Sailor at the time of the payment of the balance or directly on the spot in cash. Don't forget to inform your adviser of your arrival time.
All the skippers we propose are registered and have the necessary professional certificates. They speak English fluently. If you have any special requirements regarding the skipper, please let us know. The skipper is in charge of the navigation and your safety on board. Do not hesitate to take part in the manoeuvres with him, he will be happy to teach you the basics of navigation. Concerning the organization, the skipper and the hostess sleep on the boat, in a cabin.
During your cruise, you benefit from the half-board package, including breakfasts and lunches per day. Softs and alcoholic beverages are not included. Please check the terms and conditions of your quotation. Your adviser will be able to send you the menus proposed on board on request. They are often prepared using fresh local produce. Please inform us as soon as possible if you are allergic to certain foods or if you are on a special diet.
To confirm your booking, you must inform your GlobeSailor advisor who will make an option for you while you collect your deposit. The reservation will only be considered final once your deposit has been received (by bank transfer, Paypal or credit card), from 30 to 50% of the amount of the reservation. A deposit of 100% will be required for any reservation made less than one month before departure. The balance is due 45 days before departure at the latest.
In case of cancellation, you must notify your GlobeSailor consultant as soon as possible. Whatever the cause, the following cancellation fees will be due: up to 90 days before departure: 25% /// from 89 to 60 days: 50% /// from 59 to 30 days: 75% /// from 29 days to departure: 100% of the amount of your reservation.
We advise our clients to take out cancellation insurance with Ouest Assurance: http://www.ouest-assurances.fr

Get your quote

Get a detailed offer by filling out the form below:

Sail from island to island in the Azores archipelago
adults:
children:
Error
Our website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website, you accept our use of cookies. Find out more | Close.